Croeso Network

Chirk History Society

Chirk Castle GatesFormed in September 1987 with a membership of approx. 50 people from the surrounding area.

Meetings are normally held on the second Monday of each month, in the Parish Hall Chirk, starting at 7.15pm - see below for programme details.

The society aims to give its members a variety of talks, some are specific to the area of Chirk others are of a more general nature and have included such topics as  Gothic Art, Architecture, The Titanic, Researching the history of your house and Cathedrals and Abbeys of England.

The society is open to anyone, you may even be interested in giving  a talk to the members on your own subject.

Although most members are just keen amateurs, with an interest in history, who enjoy an evening out with a chance to meet other people and have a talk and a cup of tea.

If you would like to join us, just turn up at any meeting. You can attend as a casual visitor.

Contact Numbers:- Graham Greasley 01691 777527

Chirk History Society - Meetings start at 7.15pm prompt.


2015 Speaker Topic
12th   January Kynges Souldiers A Marcher Castle Lost in time..
9th  February Mr Peter Mullings

Cold War Berlin.

9th  March Mr Idris Evans Cattle Drovers of Wales
13th April

Sue Ellis

Past, Present and Future – Whittington Castle.


To Be Advised.
8th June Hilary Spragg Chirk Boundaries.
July and August

Summer break.

14th September Mr Ben Parry The Household division of the Guards
12th October AGM

To be advised.


Tourism Business Not for Profit Photos Old Photos


Click on the town name below to visit other areas of Wales or Here for Map
Aberaeron Aberdovey Abergavenny Abersoch Aberystwyth Amlwch Bala
Barmouth Barry Island Beaumaris Beddgelert Betws-y-Coed Blaenavon Brecon
Builth Wells Caernarfon Caerphilly Caldey Island Cardiff Cardigan Carmarthen
Chepstow Chirk Colwyn Bay Welcome to Wales - Croeso i Gymru Conwy Cowbridge Criccieth
Crickhowell Denbigh Dolgellau Fishguard Flintshire Harlech
Haverfordwest Hay-on-Wye Holyhead Llanberis Llandeilo Llandovery
Llandrindod Llandudno Llangollen Llantwit Major Machynlleth Merthyr Tydfil Monmouth
Newport New Quay Newtown Pembroke Porthcawl Porthmadog Prestatyn
Pwllheli Rhayader Rhyl Ruabon Ruthin Saundersfoot St Asaph
St Davids Swansea Tenby Welshpool Wrexham Chester Oswestry